lotus – maternity

By: rik

Apr 23 2008

Tags: , , , ,

Category: clients, maternity, photography

1 Comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/125 sec
Camera:Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XT

A week or so before I went to New York, I got a call late one Friday from a friend of ours. She had been expecting to give birth any day (actually, a couple of days prior to that), so we expected the call to be the big news that her baby had been born. That wasn’t the case. But, she thought, since she was still pregnant with nothing to do, would I want to do a maternity shoot with her and her family the next day?

Of course!

We went to an old house in Manhattan for a fun shoot with her, her husband, and their daughter. I was apprehensive going into the shoot because I typically like to do my shooting outside, with all the wonderful natural light. I found, though, that there is lots of lovely light inside, too, so long as you know where to look. In this house, we started upstairs by a big window, moved our way to the staircase, and then eventually to the front room with its massive windows and yummy light.

The rest of the images are here.

And for anyone in the Wamego area (or within a reasonable drive thereof…Manhattan, Topeka, Junction City) who is expecting, please contact me to inquire about the possibility of getting your own maternity session done for free to help me build my portfolio!

One comment on “lotus – maternity”

  1. […] too long ago, I had the pleasure of having one of my maternity clients come back with an adorable little bundle of joy ready for his own portraits. We were only able to […]


Leave a Reply

